Constitutional order

Implementing the decision of its citizens, the Parliament of the Republic of Montenegro, at the ceremonial meeting, held on June 3rd 2006, issued a decision on proclaiming independence and the Declaration of independent Republic of Montenegro, which proclaimed Montenegro as independent and sovereign state. Adopting the Declaration and the Decision of independence, the Republic of Montenegro, through accepting and adopting rights and obligations deriving from its arrangements with the European Union, United Nations, Council of Europe, OSCE, NATO, WTO and other international organizations, started the procedure for full membership in these organizations as well as the overall process of the succession of the international agreements.

Shortly after the results of the referendum were recognized by the international community, Montenegro became member to the OSCE, UN, Council of Europe and other international political and financial organizations and associations.

The decision of the citizens of Montenegro to live in a state that upholds the following values as the basic ones: freedom, peace, tolerance, respect of human rights and freedoms, multiculturality, democracy and the rule of law, became part of the Constitution of Montenegro, proclaimed on October 22nd 2007. The highest law changed the name of the state. Republic of Montenegro since then has the new official name – Montenegro. By its Constitution, Montenegro is defined as independent, sovereign state and a republic. Montenegro is civil, democratic, ecological and social welfare state, based on the rule of law. The carrier of its sovereignty is Montenegrin citizen with Montenegrin citizenship. The citizen performs this right directly and through freely elected representatives.

Any authority that doesn’t derive from the free will of Montenegrin citizens expressed on democratic elections, in line with the law, cannot be established in Montenegro. The power is divided into three branches: parliamentary, executive and judicial. The power is limited by the Constitution and the law. The legislative power is performed by the unicameral Parliament, the executive by the Government and the judicial by the judiciary system – the courts. The Parliament is comprised of the Parliament members elected directly, on the basis of universal and equal electoral rights and secret vote. The number of the members of the Parliament is 81. The Government is comprised of the Prime Minister, one or more Deputy Prime Ministers and the ministers. The Court is independent and autonomous. Judges’ function is permanent. Judges and the courts’ presidents are elected and suspended by the Judicial Council.

Montenegro is represented by the president of Montenegro, elected directly. Constitutionality and legality are protected by the Constitutional court. The military and the security services are under civil and democratic control.

Following the principles and rules of international law, Montenegro cooperates and develops friendly relations with other countries, as well as regional and international organizations. Montenegro can join international organizations. The Parliament decides on model of accession to the European Union. Montenegro cannot join the union with other country and lose its independence and full international subjectivity.