Parliament of Montenegro

The Parliament of Montenegro as a state organ, both in the formal and the material sense, was established by the Constitution of the Principality of Montenegro in December 1905. It was named the National Assembly, as the national representative body and body of legislative power, which was exercised by both the Assembly and Knjaz. The National Assembly established by the Constitution of 1905. replaced the former folk choirs, meetings and councils in Montenegro. The first parliamentary elections for the National Assembly were held on the basis of the Law on election of deputies, enacted on June 24th (July 7th) in 1906. The elections were held on September 27th, after which the National Assembly was held for the first time in Cetinje on October 31st in 1906. This was the first session of the Assembly and this date is regarded as the beginning of the parliamentarism in Montenegro.

From the first convocation in 1906. Montenegrin Assembly has convened 25 times. (25th convocation of the Assembly was inaugurated on November 6th 2012.)

The first National Assembly was inaugurated on October 31st in 1906, and was disbanded on July 9th 1907. Elections for a new (second) convocation of the National Assembly were held on October 31st 1907. The National Assembly convened on November 21st 1907. The mandate of the Assembly lasted until September 1911. Elections for the third session of the National Assembly were held on September 27th, and the National Assembly convened on December 1st in 1911. The mandate of this session lasted until the October 25th 1913. When the National Assembly disbanded, the elections for the fourth session of the National Assembly were held on January 11th 1914. The National Assembly convened on January 28th in 1914. The National Assembly in this convocation was held for the last time on December 25th in 1915. completing its work on January 4th in 1916. and never convened again. During the period of the Principality and the Kingdom of Montenegro, until the end of the World War I, when Montenegro 1918. lost its statehood, there were four National Assembly convocations.

In 1918. Montenegro lost its statehood and until the Second World War, Montenegro didn’t have a national assembly. The new (the 5th) convocation of the assembly in Montenegro was the Montenegrin Anti-Fascist Assembly of the National Liberation (CASNO), convened on July 14th in 1944. in Kolašin. according to the decision of the Anti-Fascist Council of National Liberation of Montenegro and Boka (ZAVNO) on conversion of ZAVNO to CASNO. Mandate, or convocation of the Assembly lasted until November 3rd in 1946, when elections were held for the Constituent Assembly of the People's Republic of Montenegro, with CASNO changing its name: on April 15th in 1945. to the Montenegrin National Assembly, and on February 15th  in 1946. to the National Assembly. The Constituent Assembly convened in November in 1946. It was the sixth convocation of the Parliament.

The Assembly inaugurated on October 2nd in 2006 was the 23rd convocation of the Assembly, constituted and began work as a Constituent Assembly, with the mission to adopt the Constitution of the Independent State of Montenegro, and then continued the mandate as a regular assembly. The current Parliament of Montenegro, the 25th convocation, was constituted at the session on November 6th 2012.

Montenegrin Parliament is a legislative authority. It is the representative body of the people, and is consisted of the deputies elected in direct elections by secret ballot on the basis of universal and equal suffrage.


Term of office of the Parliament lasts four years, an MP does not have binding mandate, the MPs decide and vote according to their own beliefs, they enjoy immunity and may not be recalled. An MP is elected for every six thousand voters, in the Republic as a unique electorate, on the basis of electoral lists submitted by: political parties (party electoral list), coalitions of political parties (coalition electoral list) and the groups of citizens (electoral list of the group of citizens). Mandate of MPs is allocated according to the proportionate, Doont’s electoral principle, i.e. the principle of the largest quotient.

The Parliament works in regular and extraordinary sittings. The regular sittings are convened twice a year, namely: the first regular session starts on the first working day in March and lasts until the end of July, and the second one starts on the first working day in October and lasts until the end of December. The extraordinary session are convened at the request of not less than one third of the total number of MPs, or at the request of the President of the Republic and of the Prime Minister, and they are convened in the period from the first working day in January until the last working day in February, as well as from the first working day in August until the last working day in September.

The Parliament of Montenegro has 81 members.

President of the Parliament of Montenegro is Ivan Brajović.

Vice-Presidents of the Parliament of Montenegro are Branimir Gvozdenović i Genci Nimanbegu.